Crane Standards

Crane Standards

What is FEM?

FEM stands for "Fédération Européenne de la Manutention" or the European Materials Handling Federation. FEM is an association that represents manufacturers of materials handling, lifting, and storage equipment, including cranes, hoists, and forklifts.

FEM develops and publishes industry standards and guidelines related to the design, manufacturing, and operation of materials handling equipment. These standards are recognized and respected in the European market and are often used as a reference for ensuring safety, quality, and performance of such equipment.

Crane FEM Standards

Some of the key FEM standards relevant to the crane industry include:

  1. FEM 1.001
  2. FEM 9.511
  3. FEM 9.755
  4. FEM 10.2.03
  5. FEM 10.2.08

1. FEM 1.001: General Principles for the Design of Cranes: Provides general principles and guidelines for the design of overhead cranes, gantry cranes, and jib cranes, including structural requirements, safety factors, load handling devices, and control systems.

2. FEM 9.511: Load Handling Devices for Mobile Cranes: Specifies requirements for load handling devices, such as hooks, slings, grabs, and clamps, used with mobile cranes.

3. FEM 9.755: Selection and Use of Steel Wire Ropes for Mobile Cranes: Provides guidelines for the selection, inspection, and safe use of steel wire ropes in mobile cranes.

4. FEM 10.2.03: Safe Use of Mobile Cranes on Vessels: Addresses specific requirements and safety considerations for the use of mobile cranes on vessels, including stability, load limits, and operation near the water.

5. FEM 10.2.08: Safety Codes for Mobile Cranes: Covers various safety aspects of mobile crane operation, including operator training, safe working practices, stability, and equipment inspections.

These standards, among others, help ensure that cranes and lifting equipment manufactured and operated in Europe meet certain quality, safety, and performance requirements. It's important to consult the specific FEM standards relevant to your particular application and adhere to any local regulations or additional industry-specific standards that may apply.

FEM, DIN Classes in Cranes

Selecting a crane classification with FEM standards involves considering factors like load capacity, usage frequency, and environmental conditions. Consult FEM guidelines, assess your specific requirements, and choose a classification that aligns with your needs for safety and efficiency.

FEM, DIN Classes in Cranes

RTG Crane Standards

1. FEM 1.001: FEM (Fédération Européenne de la Manutention) is the European Materials Handling Federation. FEM 1.001 provides general design principles and safety requirements for cranes, including RTG cranes.

2. ISO 12482: ISO (International Organization for Standardization) develops international standards. ISO 12482 focuses on the design and testing requirements for RTG cranes, including factors such as stability, strength, and safety considerations.

3. EN 15011: EN 15011 is a European standard specifically dedicated to bridge and gantry cranes. It covers design principles, calculation methods, and safety requirements for various types of cranes, including RTG cranes.

4. ASME B30.7: ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) B30.7 is an American standard that provides guidelines for the design, construction, and operation of mobile and locomotive cranes, which can include RTG cranes.

These are just a few examples of the standards commonly referenced for RTG cranes. It's important to consult the latest versions of the applicable standards and regulations in your specific country or region to ensure compliance with the most up-to-date requirements.

European Crane Standards

In Europe, the crane industry adheres to various standards and regulations established by the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) and the European Union (EU). Here are some of the key standards applicable to cranes in Europe:

  1. EN 13001: Cranes - General design: This standard provides guidelines for the general design principles of cranes, including load combinations, calculation methods, and stability criteria.
  2. EN 15011: Cranes - Bridge and gantry cranes: This standard focuses specifically on the design, calculation, and testing requirements for bridge and gantry cranes.
  3. EN 14492: Cranes - Power-driven hoists: This standard covers the design, construction, and testing of power-driven hoists used in cranes.
  4. EN 13000: Cranes - Mobile cranes: This standard sets the requirements for the design, calculation, and testing of mobile cranes, including telescopic cranes and lattice boom cranes.
  5. EN 13002: Cranes - Fixed equipment: This standard addresses the design, calculation, and testing of fixed equipment used in cranes, such as runways, rails, and beams.
  6. EN 13852: Cranes - Manually controlled load manipulating devices: This standard focuses on manually controlled load manipulating devices, including manually operated cranes and hoists.

These are just a few examples of the standards developed by CEN that are widely used in Europe. Additionally, specific countries may have additional regulations or standards applicable to cranes within their jurisdictions.

It is important to consult the latest versions of the applicable standards and regulations in your specific country or region to ensure compliance with the most up-to-date requirements.

Deflection in cranes refers to the amount of bending or sagging that occurs in the structural components when the crane is under load. It is important to control deflection within acceptable limits to maintain the crane's stability, safety, and operational efficiency.

Deflection is typically measured at specific points, such as the bridge girder, runway beams, or jib, and is influenced by factors like the crane's design, materials used, load capacity, and applied forces.

To ensure safe and reliable crane operation, deflection limits are defined based on industry standards and regulations. These limits vary depending on the crane type, span, load capacity, and other factors. By adhering to these guidelines, crane designers and engineers can select appropriate materials and structural dimensions to minimize deflection and maintain the crane's structural integrity.

It's important to note that deflection limits may differ based on regional standards and specific crane applications. Therefore, it is recommended to consult relevant industry codes, regulations, and experienced professionals during the design and construction process to ensure compliance and safety.

Professional, powerful and reliable industrial cranes, equipments are our core expertise.

Asan Cranes ContactAsan Cranes WhatsappAsan Cranes Telephone
About UsAsan Cranes